Playground grants in Arizona
Last updated
7 Arizona programs from the state, counties, cities and foundations, plus 5 national programs open here. Each one links to its own page with the full details and the date we checked it.
- Programs
- 12
- Accepting now
- 8
- Strong fit for playgrounds
- 4
- Checked
- Weekly
All programs open in Arizona
-
NationalUp to $8,000, materials and installationOpen, due Dec 18, 2026Strong fit
-
Walmart stores Spark Good Local GrantsWalmart stores, Sam's Clubs and distribution centersNational$250 to $5,000Open, due Dec 31, 2026Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Community Facilities Direct Loan and Grant ProgramUSDA Rural DevelopmentNationalGrant covers 15% to 75% of project cost, depending on town size and income. No dollar maximum published.RollingPossible fit
-
ArizonaAward amounts are not stated on this page.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
ArizonaAward amounts are not stated on this page.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
NationalUp to 50% of project costs.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
StatewideAward amounts are not stated on this page.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Community Development Block Grant ProgramU.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)NationalSet by each city, county or state.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
Cochise and eastern Santa Cruz counties, ArizonaUp to $5,000 for a one year project.ClosedPossible fit
-
City of MaricopaGrants are generally limited to a maximum of $1,000.00; some proposals may receive partial funding.ClosedPossible fit
-
Southern ArizonaAnticipated $5,000 grants for one year, with the chance of a conditional $5,000 renewal for a second year.Status unverifiedPossible fit
-
Cochise and eastern Santa Cruz counties, ArizonaUp to $50,000 (project not to exceed two years).ClosedPossible fitLow confidence
We summarize public information. Always confirm details with the funder before applying.
Arizona questions
Can a school in Arizona get a grant for a playground?
Yes, though often through a partner. Arizona State Parks and Trails names playgrounds as an eligible project for its LWCF Grants, but only cities, towns, counties and tribes can apply. A school that wants that money needs to work with its city, town or county, which would be the applicant.
Schools can apply directly for shade. The American Academy of Dermatology's Shade Structure Grant pays up to $8,000 for materials and installation of permanent shade where children learn and play. Public schools and 501(c)(3) nonprofits serving kids 18 and under qualify, but you need a sun safety program that has run for at least a year and a letter from a dermatologist. The program runs once a year. See our playgrounds for schools.
Can a church in Arizona apply for a playground grant?
Sometimes, but not for Arizona's main state playground program. Arizona LWCF Grants from Arizona State Parks and Trails accept applications only from cities, towns, counties and tribes, so a church would have to partner with a local government on a public project.
Walmart Spark Good Local Grants do accept faith-based organizations, as long as the project benefits the broader community and the church serves the same area as the Walmart store, Sam's Club or distribution center it applies to. Awards run from $250 to $5,000, so they cover only part of a playground. There are three application cycles each year, and a funded group cannot reapply to the same store in the same fiscal year. See our church playground equipment.
What playground grants can an Arizona city, town or county apply for?
Arizona LWCF Grants from Arizona State Parks and Trails fund the creation and improvement of outdoor recreation areas, and playgrounds are named directly. Cities, towns, counties and tribes are the only eligible applicants. The state says opportunities come up throughout the year, and you register in its Webgrants system to get the timing. The Arizona Heritage Fund Grants are also open to cities and counties for parks and community spaces.
Small rural towns have one more option. USDA Community Facilities grants serve places of 20,000 people or fewer and cover 15% to 75% of the cost, depending on town size and income. The top 75% share goes to low-income towns of 5,000 or fewer, and low-interest loans can cover the rest. You must show you cannot pay for the project from your own resources or commercial credit. See our playgrounds for parks.