Playground grants in Georgia
Last updated
11 Georgia programs from the state, counties, cities and foundations, plus 5 national programs open here. Each one links to its own page with the full details and the date we checked it.
- Programs
- 16
- Accepting now
- 7
- Strong fit for playgrounds
- 4
- Checked
- Weekly
All programs open in Georgia
-
NationalUp to $8,000, materials and installationOpen, due Dec 18, 2026Strong fit
-
Walmart stores Spark Good Local GrantsWalmart stores, Sam's Clubs and distribution centersNational$250 to $5,000Open, due Dec 31, 2026Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Community Facilities Direct Loan and Grant ProgramUSDA Rural DevelopmentNationalGrant covers 15% to 75% of project cost, depending on town size and income. No dollar maximum published.RollingPossible fit
-
North Georgia EMC seven-county service area in northwest GeorgiaAgencies cannot receive more than $10,000 in a 12 month period.Opens Jan 1, 2027Yearly cycleStrong fit
-
Central Savannah River Area of Georgia and South CarolinaUp to $30,000Opens Aug 10, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Central Georgia regionUp to $25,000.Next deadline Dec 31, 2026Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Carling Memorial Foundation FundCommunity Foundation of Central GeorgiaBibb County, GeorgiaThe average grant is $1,000.Next deadline Nov 15, 2026Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Central Georgia Empowerment FundCommunity Foundation of Central GeorgiaCentral Georgia (Bibb, Houston and Jones counties)Up to $5,000 per organization.Next deadline Aug 31, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Coffee County and the immediate surrounding areaA few significant grants rather than several smaller ones; a total of $10,000 is available.Next deadline Sep 15, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Outdoor Recreation Legacy Partnership ProgramGeorgia Department of Natural ResourcesDisadvantaged urban communities of 30,000 or more$300,000 to $15,000,000, with a 1:1 non-federal match.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
NationalUp to 50% of project costs.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Community Development Block Grant ProgramU.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)NationalSet by each city, county or state.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
Whitfield, Bartow and Gordon Counties, GeorgiaTypically $1,000 to $4,000Opens Mar 1, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fitLow confidence
-
DeKalb County, GAThe page does not state award amounts.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fitLow confidence
-
Central Savannah River Area (Augusta region), Georgia and South CarolinaAward amounts are not stated on this page.Status unverifiedPossible fitLow confidence
-
Athens areaAverage grant awards may range between $1,000 and $5,000.Status unverifiedPossible fitLow confidence
We summarize public information. Always confirm details with the funder before applying.
Georgia questions
Can an HOA or neighborhood group in Georgia get a playground grant?
It is hard for an HOA to apply on its own. Georgia funders such as the North Georgia Electric Membership Foundation's Operation Round Up accept applications only from nonprofit charitable organizations and government organizations. That program covers North Georgia EMC's seven-county service area in northwest Georgia and caps awards at $10,000 per agency in any 12-month period. Walmart Spark Good Local Grants state outright that homeowners' associations cannot apply.
If the playground will sit on public land and be open to everyone, the city or county can be the applicant, since government bodies are eligible for programs like Operation Round Up. Operation Round Up takes applications twice a year, in winter and in early summer. See our playgrounds for HOAs.
What playground grants can Georgia cities and park departments apply for?
The Georgia Department of Natural Resources runs the Outdoor Recreation Legacy Partnership Program (ORLP). It funds new or significantly improved recreation in disadvantaged urban communities with populations of 30,000 or more. Awards range from $300,000 to $15,000,000, so it suits a major park project rather than a single piece of equipment. Projects compete in an annual national competition.
Cities and counties also receive Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) money every year and choose the local projects themselves. Building public facilities and improvements is an eligible use, but the project must mainly benefit low- and moderate-income people. Each city or county sets its own application dates. See our playgrounds for parks.
Do Georgia playground grants require matching funds?
Some do. Georgia's Outdoor Recreation Legacy Partnership Program requires a 1:1 non-federal match. That means the community must put up as much as the grant from non-federal sources, so other federal grant money cannot count toward the match.
In rural towns of 20,000 people or fewer, the USDA Community Facilities program covers only a share of a project: up to 75% in low-income towns of 5,000 or fewer, up to 55% in towns up to 12,000, and 35% or 15% in towns up to 20,000. Low-interest loans from the same program can cover the rest. Applicants must also show they cannot pay for the project from their own resources or commercial credit.
Can a daycare in Georgia get a grant for a playground?
In rural areas, possibly. The USDA Community Facilities program lists child care centers among the facilities it pays to build or improve, and it pays for equipment. It is open to community-based nonprofits and public bodies in rural areas of 20,000 people or fewer, and it accepts applications year round. The grant covers 15% to 75% of the cost depending on town size and income, and loans can cover the rest.
A daycare run as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit can also apply to the American Academy of Dermatology Shade Structure Grant, which pays up to $8,000 for a permanent shade structure where children play. It requires a sun safety program that has run for at least a year. See our playgrounds for daycares.