Playground grants in North Carolina
Last updated
91 North Carolina programs from the state, counties, cities and foundations, plus 5 national programs open here. Each one links to its own page with the full details and the date we checked it.
- Programs
- 96
- Accepting now
- 16
- Strong fit for playgrounds
- 9
- Checked
- Weekly
All programs open in North Carolina
-
Durham CountyUp to $5,000 on the short form. Standard form maximum not published on the program page.Open, due Nov 18, 2026Strong fit
-
NationalUp to $8,000, materials and installationOpen, due Dec 18, 2026Strong fit
-
Walmart stores Spark Good Local GrantsWalmart stores, Sam's Clubs and distribution centersNational$250 to $5,000Open, due Dec 31, 2026Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Parks and Recreation Trust Fund (PARTF)NC Division of Parks and RecreationStatewideUp to $500,000 per applicationOpen, due May 3, 2027Strong fit
-
AshevilleUp to $5,000RollingPossible fit
-
StatewideNot publishedRollingPossible fit
-
Community Facilities Direct Loan and Grant ProgramUSDA Rural DevelopmentNationalGrant covers 15% to 75% of project cost, depending on town size and income. No dollar maximum published.RollingPossible fit
-
StatewideUp to $2,500 each yearOpens Dec 1, 2026Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
LewisvilleAward amounts are not stated.Opens Apr 1, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
North CarolinaNot publishedOpens Oct 26, 2027Yearly cycleStrong fit
-
ConcordUp to $3,000.00 in matching grant funds.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
Greater GreensboroNot publishedAccepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
Greater GreensboroNot publishedAccepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
NationalUp to 50% of project costs.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
Outdoor Recreation Legacy Partnership Program (ORLP)National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior (nominated through NC State Parks)Qualifying urban areas of 25,000 or more people, and Tribal areas$300,000 to $15 millionAccepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
Forsyth County, North CarolinaUp to $100,000Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Community Development Block Grant ProgramU.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)NationalSet by each city, county or state.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
Dare CountyUp to $10,000ClosedPossible fit
-
Ashe CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Brunswick CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Wake, Chatham countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Alexander, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Watauga CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Bertie, Hertford countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Martin CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Moore CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Surry CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Camden, Gates, Pasquotank, Perquimans countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Yadkin CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Randolph CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Hoke CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Robeson CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Lee CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
New Hanover CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Rockingham CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Jones CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Montgomery CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Onslow CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Beaufort, Hyde countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Chowan CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Franklin CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Granville CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Vance CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Alleghany CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Avery CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Columbus CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Craven CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Pamlico CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Greene CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Lenoir CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Madison CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Camden, Gates, Pasquotank, Perquimans countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Person CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Jackson CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Macon CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Wake, Durham countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Swain CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Wilkes CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Wake CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Wake, Chatham countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Wake CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Duplin CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Johnston CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Edgecombe CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Nash, Edgecombe countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Haywood CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Moore CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Bertie, Hertford countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Alexander, Caldwell, Catawba countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Wilson CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
CharlotteUp to $25,000 per applicationClosedPossible fit
-
Cherokee CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Clay CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Currituck, Dare countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Currituck, Dare countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Jackson, Swain countiesNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Graham CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Carteret CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Harnett CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
Warren CountyNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
StatewideNot published. Amounts vary by program.ClosedPossible fit
-
CharlotteNot publishedClosedPossible fit
-
NC Division of Parks and Recreation Accessible Parks GrantNC Division of Parks and Recreation (through PARTF)StatewideUp to $500,000 (2024 round)ClosedStrong fit
-
Land and Water Conservation Fund, local grantsNC Division of Parks and Recreation with the National Park ServiceStatewideUp to $750,000 per applicationClosedStrong fit
-
Dare CountyRequests over $10,000. Maximum not published.ClosedPossible fit
-
Forsyth County, North CarolinaUp to $2,000ClosedPossible fit
-
MarvinMicro-grants of $250 to $2,500 per project, subject to annual budget appropriations.ClosedPossible fit
-
Cabarrus County, NCUp to 50 percent of the actual project cost, based on the amount approved by the Commission.Status unverifiedStrong fit
-
Edgecombe County, NCUp to $3,000Status unverifiedPossible fit
-
Black Mountain-Swannanoa Valley Endowment FundThe Community Foundation of Western North CarolinaSwannanoa Valley$2,500 to $10,000Next deadline Mar 1, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fitLow confidence
-
Cashiers$2,500 to $12,500Next deadline Apr 1, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fitLow confidence
-
Mitchell CountyUp to $5,000Next deadline Feb 1, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fitLow confidence
-
Highlands$2,500 to $10,000Next deadline Apr 1, 2027Yearly cyclePossible fitLow confidence
-
Cumberland County, NCNot publishedAccepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fitLow confidence
-
ZebulonAward amounts are not stated on this page.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fitLow confidence
-
Haywood CountyUp to $7,500Status unverifiedPossible fitLow confidence
We summarize public information. Always confirm details with the funder before applying.
North Carolina questions
Are there playground grants for schools in North Carolina?
Yes. The local affiliates of the North Carolina Community Foundation (NCCF), such as the Cary Community Foundation, accept public schools. They fund specific projects but not capital campaigns, so present the playground as one defined project rather than part of a fundraising drive.
Schools can also apply for Walmart Spark Good Local Grants of $250 to $5,000 through the store that serves their area, with three application cycles a year. For shade, the American Academy of Dermatology pays up to $8,000 for a permanent shade structure, but only for schools that have run a sun safety program for at least a year. See our playgrounds for schools.
Can a church in North Carolina get a playground grant?
Often, yes. The local affiliates of the North Carolina Community Foundation (NCCF) accept churches and other houses of worship, but they won't fund activities limited to members of one faith or capital campaigns. A playground open to the whole neighborhood, pitched as a single project, is the right fit.
Walmart Spark Good Local Grants also accept faith-based organizations whose projects benefit the broader community, at $250 to $5,000 per grant. That usually covers one piece of a playground, such as shade or benches. See our church playground equipment.
Are there city playground grants in Asheville or Concord, North Carolina?
Yes. Both cities run Neighborhood Matching Grants for resident-led improvements. Asheville pays up to $5,000, takes applications on a rolling basis and asks for a dollar-for-dollar match, at least half of it in volunteer hours. Anything permanently installed must go on public land or land the neighborhood group owns.
Concord pays up to $3,000 and sets aside $30,000 each fiscal year. Only neighborhoods that have been in its Recognized Neighborhood Program for at least one year can apply, so join that program well before you plan a playground request.
Can an HOA or neighborhood group in North Carolina get a playground grant?
Yes, mostly through city and county programs, since most foundations require 501(c)(3) status. Asheville's Neighborhood Matching Grants name homeowners associations as eligible, for up to $5,000.
In Durham County, the Open Space Matching Grants let groups without formal nonprofit status apply for short-form projects of up to $5,000 in priority areas, and the county pays 75% of the cost. Standard projects there need the group to pay at least half. See our playgrounds for HOAs.
What does North Carolina's PARTF grant pay for, and who can apply?
The Parks and Recreation Trust Fund (PARTF) pays up to $500,000 for land, new recreation facilities or renovations at a single public park site. Only counties, incorporated cities and towns, and public authorities can apply.
The match is dollar for dollar in cash or donated land. Volunteer labor and other in-kind services do not count, so a town needs real money or land for half the project. Schools, churches and nonprofits usually take part by partnering with their local government. See our playgrounds for parks.
Do North Carolina park grants pay for safety surfacing?
Yes, as part of a park project. The application guide for North Carolina's LWCF local grants suggests buying playground equipment and surfacing that meet the latest American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards.
Those grants pay up to $750,000 per application with at least a 50% local match, and only a local government that owns the park property can apply.