Playground grants in Oregon
Last updated
12 Oregon programs from the state, counties, cities and foundations, plus 5 national programs open here. Each one links to its own page with the full details and the date we checked it.
- Programs
- 17
- Accepting now
- 10
- Strong fit for playgrounds
- 6
- Checked
- Weekly
All programs open in Oregon
-
Northwest PortlandAward amounts are not stated on the page.ClosedStrong fit
-
NationalUp to $8,000, materials and installationOpen, due Dec 18, 2026Strong fit
-
Walmart stores Spark Good Local GrantsWalmart stores, Sam's Clubs and distribution centersNational$250 to $5,000Open, due Dec 31, 2026Yearly cyclePossible fit
-
Rural OregonBuilding maintenance up to $25,000. New construction up to $100,000. Vehicle purchase up to $25,000.RollingPossible fit
-
Community Facilities Direct Loan and Grant ProgramUSDA Rural DevelopmentNationalGrant covers 15% to 75% of project cost, depending on town size and income. No dollar maximum published.RollingPossible fit
-
NationalUp to 50% of project costs.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
OregonAward amounts are not listed on this page.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
OregonAward amounts are not listed on this page.Accepting applications, no posted deadlineStrong fit
-
OregonMaximum request of $50,000 for programmatic work and up to $100,000 for capital projects.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Community Development Block Grant ProgramU.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)NationalSet by each city, county or state.Accepting applications, no posted deadlinePossible fit
-
Dallas, OregonAwards typically range from $1000-$3000, with a maximum award of $5000.ClosedPossible fit
-
Columbia River Gorge regionRequests may be made for any amount up to $18,800, the total available in the cycle. Past awards have ranged from $650 to $4,000.ClosedPossible fit
-
OregonThe page does not state a per-project award amount. The program awards a set total statewide each year.ClosedStrong fit
-
Josephine CountyGenerally limited to $10,000, with occasional exceptions.Status unverifiedPossible fit
-
Cottage Grove areaAward amounts are not stated on this page.Open, due Dec 1, 2026Possible fitLow confidence
-
Oregon, with priority to counties where PGE has customers and power generating plantsNot publishedOpens Feb 22, 2027Possible fitLow confidence
-
Rural Oregon and Siskiyou County, CaliforniaLess than $20,000Status unverifiedPossible fitLow confidence
We summarize public information. Always confirm details with the funder before applying.
Oregon questions
Can a church in Oregon get a playground grant?
Sometimes. Walmart Spark Good Local Grants accept faith-based organizations, as long as the project benefits the broader community and serves the same area as the Walmart store, Sam's Club or distribution center you apply to. Plan a playground that neighborhood families can use, not only your members.
Awards range from $250 to $5,000, so they usually fund one piece of a larger playground. There are three application cycles each year, but an organization that wins cannot reapply to the same store in the same fiscal year. See our church playground equipment.
Can an HOA or neighborhood group in Oregon get playground grant money?
It is harder than for nonprofits and public agencies. Walmart Spark Good Local Grants specifically say homeowners' associations cannot apply, and Roundhouse Capital Grants for rural Oregon accept only 501(c)(3) organizations, government entities including special districts, and Tribal governments. A neighborhood group without 501(c)(3) status would need a nonprofit or public partner to apply.
In Northwest Portland, the Oregon Community Foundation's Northwest Neighborhoods Parks & Recreation Fund pays for capital development and renovation of parks and recreation facilities. Projects inside the Northwest District, Northwest Industrial or Hillside neighborhood association boundaries get preference. See our playgrounds for HOAs.
What state grants can Oregon cities and counties use for a park playground?
The Oregon Parks and Recreation Department runs the OPRD Local Government Grant and the Land and Water Conservation Fund, and both name playgrounds as eligible public outdoor facilities, along with trails, sports fields, picnic areas, parking and restrooms. The Land and Water Conservation Fund supports recreation on public land, so the playground should be on public property.
Counties have one more option, the County Opportunity Grant Program. Only Oregon counties can apply, they must own the property or hold a lease of 20 years or more, and the park must offer camping. Counties under 30,000 residents put up a 25% local match, and larger counties a 50% match. See our playgrounds for parks.
Do Oregon playground grants require a local match?
Many do. Spirit Mountain Community Fund Large Grants can fund capital projects up to $100,000, but a request cannot exceed 50% of the total project budget, so you need to show the other half. Requests are considered quarterly.
Oregon's County Opportunity Grant Program requires a 25% local match from counties under 30,000 residents and 50% from larger counties. Dallas Community Foundation Grants have no match requirement, but the foundation expects larger requests to have more than one funding source.